Sunday (Sunset) Supper

We were supposed to spend the day at a friend’s place watching football and having a cookout, but when he called out sick, I had to resort to dinner plan B. Fortunately I had picked up the fixins for nachos last night – one of my favorite go-to easy meals – and one that has been far too forgotten as of late.

Of course there are a million easy ways to make nachos, but here’s my favorite way to have them.

20120115-224622.jpg

No Nonsense Nachos
Serves 2-4 (depending how hungry you are)

What you need:
1 bag tortilla chips (I prefer multigrain
Tostitos)
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 diced red onion
1/2 package ground chicken or turkey
1 can black beans
1/2 cup salsa
1/2 cup sour cream (I use light)
1/2 cup guacamole (see recipe below)
Chili powder, salt, and pepper to taste

What you do:
1) Heat olive oil in pan and add onions – sauté 3-5 minutes
2) Meanwhile, spread a single layer of chips across each plate and cover chips with half of the cheese
3) Once onions are lightly cooked, add ground meat along with chili powder, salt, and pepper – cook thoroughly
3) Add beans to the pan with meat and continue cooking until beans are warm
4) Remove pan from heat and scoop even portions of meat/bean mixture over chips with cheese
5) Cover mixture with remaining cheese
6) Scoop spoonfuls of salsa, sour cream, and guacamole evenly over nachos

I love love love to make fresh guacamole, so if you have the time and access to good avocados, I think it makes a great addition to the meal. My guac recipe varies based on the ingredients I happen to have on hand, but here’s the basic outline I used for tonight (which I think turned out to be one of my best batches yet).

Courtney’s Crazy Good Guac
Makes a good sized bowl to share with friends

What you need:
3-4 large avocados
2 Tablespoons finely diced red onion
2 cloves minced garlic
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 Tablespoon lime juice
1/3 cup sour cream
Salt and pepper to taste

What you do:
1) Cut avocados in half and scrape out inside into medium bowl
2) Add all other ingredient and mash together until smooth with some chunks of avocado remaining
3) Serve with tortilla chips or atop nachos (or other Mexican fare)

20120115-231301.jpg

This was definitely a winning guacamole combo. And I’m not sure what made the difference, but this guac kept much better than my past batches. Usually my guacamole will start to turn brown fairly quickly, but I had this out for hours sharing with friends and it remained pristine green! Makes for a perfect party dish.

Of course this meal – and any for that matter – is best enjoyed with a sunset.

20120115-231820.jpg

Join the Conversation!

